Saturday 5 May 2012

Bruno Spengler claims pole position for BMW at Lausitz

Bruno Spengler claims pole position for BMW at Lausitz

Klettwitz. Bruno Spengler secured himself pole position in qualifying for the second DTM season round at Lausitzring. With his BMW M3 DTM, the Franco-Canadian set a fastest lap time of 1:18.777 minutes. For Spengler, it is the twelfth pole position of his DTM career. Augusto Farfus completed BMW’s success: with his second fastest time, the Brazilian also secured himself a slot on the front row of the grid. On the second row, Gary Paffett will be starting from third place on Sunday with his Mercedes AMG C-Coupé. Mike Rockenfeller will be starting fourth with his Audi A5 DTM. A full press release with quotes will follow shortly.

Qualifying in detail
Air temperature: 23.4 °C
Asphalt temperature: 36.6 °C
13.40 hrs 
Start of the first 16 minutes' session. Rahel Frey is the first driver out on the track.
13.43 hrs 
Farfus is the first driver to top the time sheet: 1:19.700, followed by Joey Hand and Filipe Albuquerque.
13.44 hrs 
Albuquerque on top: 1:19.509, then toppled by Mortara with 1:19.431 and Molina with 1:19,488.
13.48 hrs 
Green is now fastest with 1:19.075, followed by Mortara and Paffett.
13.49 hrs 
Currently, Green is 0.356 seconds ahead of Mortara, then Paffett, Molina, Albuquerque, Farfus, Rockenfeller, Ekström.
13.51 hrs 
Spengler is now second with 1:19.316 after his first flying lap.
13.52 hrs 
Spengler takes first place on his next attempt 1:19.000, followed by Green, Tomczyk, Hand, Tambay and Hand.
13.53 hrs 
Scheider is the only driver yet to post a lap time. Farfus is now fastest: 1:18,945, Vietoris moves up into second place with 1:18.977. Scheider is tenth after his first flying lap.
13.56 hrs 
End of the session. Schumacher, Merhi, Wolff, Coulthard, Werner and Frey aren't qualified for the next heat and will start from 17th to 22nd place.
13.57 hrs 
Rockenfeller has moved up to first place: 1:18.914, followed by Farfus, Vietoris, Molina, Spengler, Ekström, Green, Tomczyk, Mortara, Paffett, Tambay, Scheider, Hand, Wickens, Priaulx and Albuquerque. The times of the first ten drivers are within 0.224 seconds.
13.58 hrs 
The next heat starts at 14.03 h.
14.03 hrs 
Start of the session. The eight fastest drivers move up into Q3.
14.05 hrs 
Ekström is fastest: 1:18.875.
14.06 hrs 
Ekström improves to 1:18.429, followed by Farfus with 1:18.874 and Green with 1:18.783.
14.07 hrs 
Timo Scheider moves up into third with 1:18.758.
14.08 hrs 
Currently, the following drivers would be out: Tomczyk, Paffett, Mortara, Priaulx, Molina, Rockenfeller.
14.11 hrs 
Mortara moves up into third place: 1:18.599, then Rockenfeller takes over third place: 1:18.597.
14.12 hrs 
Motrara is new fourth: 1:18.599. Paffett is then fastest: 1:18.420, then Farfus takes over first place with 1:18.147.
14.13 hrs 
End of the session. Farfus remains fastest from Paffett, Ekström, Green, Spengler with a last-gasp fifth place, Rockenfeller, Mortara, Molina, Tambay and Tomczyk. The following drivers don't move up into Q3: Albuquerque, Scheider, Priaulx, Hand, Wickens, Vietoris.
14.22 hrs 
Start of the next session, eleven minutes, after which the four fastest drivers continue.
14.29 hrs 
No driver goes out yet, they all wants to save tyres. Finally, Rockenfeller is the first to go out, followed by Green, Tomczyk, Farfus.
14.30 hrs 
Rockenfeller posts a lap time of 1:18,201. Farfus 1:18,108, takes first place.
14.31 hrs 
Spengler into third place: 1:18.271.
14.32 hrs 
End of the session. Farfus is fastest from Rockenfeller, Spengler and Paffett. Not qualified for Q4 are Mortara, Green, Tomczyk, Ekström, Molina and Tambay.
14.42 hrs 
Gary Paffett: 1:18.820.
14.44 hrs 
Bruno Spengler: 1:18.777.
14.46 hrs 
Mike Rockenfeller: 1:19.206.
14.48 hrs 
Augusto Farfus: 1:18.815.
DTM Press/Acreditated media.

No comments:

Post a Comment