Saturday 26 March 2011

Penalty for Lamborghini pair

Penalty for Lamborghini pair

The pole-sitters from yesterday's Qualifying Nicky Pastorelli and Dominik Schwager in the Munnich Motorsport Lamborghini No.37 have been given a five-place grid penalty due to a flag infringement.

The duo were deemed by the stewards to have ignored a black and orange flag during Q1 which means they start in sixth place. The infringement centred on the team starting the car on an external battery, which isn't allowed under the regulations and the Muennich Motorsport team received a formal reprimand.

The black and orange flag meant that the car had to return to the pits, switch off the engine and then start the car under its own power. The penalty was a drop of five places. Pastorelli's time in Q3 wasn't cancelled so the pole position time still stands.

It means the Young Driver Aston Martin No.8 of Darren Turner and Stefan Mucke will line up at the head of the field.

The five brands competing in the 2011 Championship were all represented in the top six, with the Mucke and Turner claiming a front row position alongside the Lamborghini.

Row two is headed by the Marc VDS Ford GT of Maxime Martin and Frederic Makowiecki with the second Young Driver Aston of Tomas Enge and Alex Muller in fourth.

The Team Exim Team China Corvette of Mike Hezemans and Nicky Catsburg was fifth with the JR Motorsport Nissan GT-R of Peter Dumbreck and Richard Westbrook alongside meaning all five brands are represented on the first three rows and covered by 0.4 seconds.

Qualifying 1 was topped by the Aston Martin of Mucke, the German holding off the challenge of David Brabham in the Sumo Power Nissan GT-R, with Pastorelli posting the third fastest time.

In Q2 Schwager was fastest, edging out the No.7 Aston in third. The No.38 All Inkl Lamborghini had gearbox problems that forced Marc Basseng into retirement and Jamie Campbell-Walter also failed to qualifying for Q3, the only Nissan that failed to make the last eight.

The first Qualifying Race of 2011 will start at 13:15 (local) - 09:15 (UK) and 10:15 (CET) - and all the action can be seen on with live streaming of the race.

Info FIA GT1.

Free Practice

Free Practice
Pos.Cl.CarTeam / Drivers NatCarTimeLaps Gap
0ClasNrDriver1 / Driver2
1GT18Stefan Mücke / Darren Turner
Aston Martin DB901:53.21617
2GT137Nicky Pastorelli / Dominik Schwager
Lamborghini Murcielago 670 R-S01:53.239210.023
3GT111Mike Hezemans / Nicky Catsburg
Corvette Z0601:53.326180.11
4GT122Peter Dumbreck / Richard Westbrook
Nissan GT-R01:53.333180.117
5GT120Enrique Bernoldi / Ricardo Zonta
Nissan GT-R01:53.514180.298
6GT138Markus Winkelhock / Marc Basseng
Lamborghini Murcielago 670 R-S01:53.558220.342
7GT123Lucas Luhr / Michael Krumm
Nissan GT-R01:53.754190.538
8GT17Alex Müller / Tomas Enge
Aston Martin DB901:53.804210.588
9GT15Karl Wendlinger / Peter Kox
Lamborghini Murcielago 670 R-S01:53.826240.61
10GT13Clivio Piccione / Stef Dusseldorp
Aston Martin DB901:53.848210.632
11GT141Maxime Martin / Frederic Makowiecki
Ford GT Matech01:53.969210.753
12GT140Marc Hennerici / Bas Leinders
Ford GT Matech01:54.006120.79
13GT121David Brabham / Jamie Campbell-Walter
Nissan GT-R01:54.023220.807
14GT14Christian Hohenadel / Andrea Piccini
Aston Martin DB901:54.35191.135
15GT110Martin Matzke / Milos Pavlovic
Ford GT Matech01:54.512111.296
16GT147Michael Rossi / Jaime Camara
Corvette Z0601:54.705181.489
17GT16Max Nilsson / Jiri Janak
Lamborghini Murcielago 670 R-S01:54.947281.731
18GT19Antoine Leclerc / Fabien Giroix
Ford GT Matech01:57.857264.641

No comments:

Post a Comment