Monday 21 January 2013

Audi to compete with two R18 e-tron quattro cars at Sebring

Audi to compete with two R18 e-tron quattro cars at Sebring

·         Last run of an LMP1 car of the brand at the 12-hour classic in Florida
·         Farewell event with historic vehicle exhibition
·         Audi aims for eleventh overall win at Sebring with R18 e-tron quattro
Ingolstadt, January 21, 2013 - March 16, 2013 will mark the end of an era as the world’s highest-caliber sports cars are running at the tradition-steeped Sebring 12 Hours for the last time. Before the Le Mans prototypes of the LMP1 class are no longer permitted at this event from 2014 on, Audi is coming full circle in Florida. In 1999, the first LMP sports car of the brand celebrated its debut on the former airfield - and now two prototypes emblazoned with the four rings will arguably be competing there for the last time.

"We’re in for a very emotional race weekend on which we’ll be taking the fans along on a journey into our past," says Head of Audi Motorsport Dr. Wolfgang Ullrich. "Sebring is where Audi’s sports car era that has been so successful began. We expect that with two current hybrid models we’ll be battling for overall victory at the 12-hour race for the last time this year. At the same time, on the fringes of the race, the fans can look forward to seeing four other race cars and several race drivers who made history at Sebring with Audi."

In addition to a 2012-generation Audi R18 e-tron quattro, an updated version of the prototype will be on the grid in Florida. Marcel Fässler/Oliver Jarvis/Benoît Tréluyer (CH/GB/F) and Lucas di Grassi/Tom Kristensen/Allan McNish (BR/DK/GB) will be driving the two hybrid race cars in the race. With six victories under his belt, Kristensen holds the record at this event.

In 13 runs at the sports car classic to date, Audi has clinched 22 podium positions including ten overall victories. Right on the debut, on March 20, 1999, three Audi drivers - Michele Alboreto/Dindo Capello/Stefan Johansson - were on the podium. Audi Sport Team Joest was the race team back then, as it is today.

As part of the program for the endurance race that has been held since 1952 Audi will be treating the fans to an exhibition in March reflecting the brand’s entire sports car era. An Audi R8 represents the successful period from 2000 to 2005 whereas the R10 TDI paved the way for diesel power from 2006 to 2008. The R15 TDI won there in 2009 on making its debut, and the winning car from last year - the R18 TDI - can be marveled at as well.

Former Audi factory drivers who were successful at Sebring will be on hand to sign autographs for fans as well as for pictures and interviews. This way, Audi wishes to thank the ardent sports car enthusiasts in the United States for having been loyal to the brand for so many years.

Audi Sport. 

No comments:

Post a Comment