Monday 23 May 2011

VLN: DTM stars expected at the Ring

DTM stars expected at the Ring

The entry list for the 53rd ADAC ACAS H&R Cup race is gradually getting complete. A number of stars from the DTM will join the grid for the fourth round of the VLN Langstreckenmeisterschaft Nürburgring and the penultimate possibility to test for the ADAC Zurich 24h Race in June under racing conditions.

Mattias Ekström (Sweden) and Timo Scheider who lives in Austria will start for the Audi Sport Team Abt Sportsline in an Audi R8 LMS. They will be supported by Luca Ludwig (Kempten/ Germany) and Christopher Mies (Heiligenhaus/ Germany) as well as Christian Abt (Kempten/ Germany) and Christer Jöns (Ingelheim/ Germany). The latter is a true returnee. The winner of the VLN Junior Trophy in the years 2008 and 2009 is currently competing in the ADAC GT Masters for the team Abt. Scheider has already scored a class win in the endurance racing championship whereas Ekström has so far not yet had any luck at the Nordschleife.

Another Audi works driver from the DTM will be entered by the team H&R Cup to join the grid. Edoardo Mortara (Switzerland) will share the cockpit of the spectacular Golf24 entered by Volkswagen-Motorsport with Patrick Bernhard (Magdeburg/ Germany) and Nicki Thiim (Denmark). Mortara makes his debut in DTM this year. Last year he was dominating the Formula 3 Euro Series and left his marks on the rookie series. Another debut for Mortara now in racing at the Nürburgring Nordschleife. In order to gain straightaway double experience, he is also entered in a Volkswagen Scirocco, together with the current Dakar Rally winner, Nasser Al-Attiyah (Qatar), the triple Formula 1 Grand Prix winner Johnny Herbert (Great Britain) and Bernd Ostmann (Gerlingen/ Germany), chief editor of the Motor Presse Stuttgart.

In addition to the current DTM stars, once again about 500 drivers will be on the entry list of the 53rd ADAC ACAS H&R Cup race, starting from ambitious hobby drivers up to professional race drivers. The start of the race over four hours will be given on 28th May at 12 o’clock exactly. The grid positions will be based on the results achieved in timed practice between 08:30 until 10:00hrs.

Info and Photo:

No comments:

Post a Comment